2024 FIA Prize Giving Ceremony Heads to Kigali, Rwanda


By Mwambazi Lawrence, May 16, 2024

In a historic move, the prestigious Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) has announced that its highly anticipated 2024 Prize Giving Ceremony will take place on the vibrant soil of Africa for the first time. Set to be hosted in Kigali, Rwanda, on the 13th of December 2024, this landmark event promises to celebrate the champions of the season in grand style, while also marking a significant milestone for motorsport enthusiasts across the continent.

BEN SULAYEM Mohamed, FIA President, portrait ALAKBAROV Anar, Azerbaijan Automobile Federation President, portrait VERSTAPPEN, FIA Formula One World Championship – Champion, portrait HAMILTON Lewis, FIA Formula One World Championship – 3rd Place, portrait AL-ATTIYAH Nasser, FIA World Rally-Raid Championship – Champion, portrait during the 2023 FIA Prize Giving Ceremony in Baky on December 8, 2023 at Baku Convention Center in Baku, Azerbaijan – Photo Grégory Lenormand

The decision to bring the FIA Prize Giving Ceremony to Kigali underscores the growing recognition of Africa’s emerging presence in the global motorsport arena. With its rich cultural tapestry, breathtaking landscapes, and unwavering spirit, Rwanda provides a fitting backdrop for honoring the achievements of the world’s finest drivers, teams, and motorsport stakeholders.

As anticipation starts to build towards this momentous occasion, excitement reverberates throughout Africa’s motorsport community. For enthusiasts who have long harbored dreams of witnessing the glitz and glamour of international racing celebrations firsthand, the announcement represents a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to be part of history.

Moreover, hosting the FIA Prize Giving Ceremony in Kigali holds immense symbolic significance, reflecting Africa’s evolving role as a hub for sporting excellence and global collaboration. By embracing the continent’s diversity and dynamism, the event not only celebrates the achievements of champions but also fosters greater inclusivity and unity within the motorsport fraternity.

F1, L to R: Charles Leclerc, Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez

For Rwanda, the privilege of hosting the FIA Prize Giving Ceremony serves as a testament to its remarkable journey of transformation and resilience. From overcoming adversity to embracing innovation and progress, the nation exemplifies the spirit of determination and aspiration that defines motorsport at its core.

The 2024 FIA Prize Giving Ceremony in Kigali promises to be an unforgettable spectacle, blending the glamour of motorsport with the warmth and hospitality of Africa. As the countdown to December 13th begins, anticipation mounts, and preparations are underway to welcome guests from around the globe to a celebration befitting the champions of the season.

In the heart of Kigali, amidst the echoes of cheering crowds and the sparkle of city lights, history will be made as Africa takes center stage in the world of motorsport. It’s a moment to honor excellence, inspire future generations, and showcase the unifying power of sport on a truly global scale.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *