Jas Mangat Dominates SMC Challenge Rally 2024, Tightens Grip on National Rally Championship


By Mwambazi Lawrence

Jas Mangat, accompanied by co-driver Enoch Olinga, showcased a masterclass performance at the SMC Challenge Rally 2024, solidifying his position at the summit of the National Rally Championship (NRC) leaderboard. Piloting a Hyundai I20, Mangat led the rally from the outset, displaying unwavering dominance throughout the stages. The duo triumphed in all stages, culminating in a remarkable total time of 1:26:37, further cementing their status as formidable contenders in the NRC arena. With this victory, Mangat now boasts an impressive 110 points in the NRC standings, firmly establishing himself as a force to be reckoned with, having secured two victories in the series thus far.

Rally winner Jas Mangat powers his Hyundai R5 through a muddy hairpin

In a commendable performance, the crew of Nasser Mutebi and Steven Bunya clinched second place in a Mitsubishi Evo9, posting a competitive time of 1:37:56. Their flawless rally execution propelled them into contention, underscoring their skill and determination in the fiercely competitive NRC landscape.

Meanwhile, the Equity Bank-powered duo of Dr. Moustapha Mukasa and Lawrence delivered a standout performance, securing third place in another Mitsubishi Evolution 9. Their commendable time of 1:40:36 earned them their inaugural podium finish in the NRC, propelling them to third position in the championship standings with 81 points.

Precision in motion,Moustapha Mukasa tackles the apex with finesse in his Mitsubishi Evo9.

Jonas Kansime, co-driven by Ronald Bukenya, showcased a resilient effort, clinching fourth place in a Mitsubishi Evo8 with a time of 1:46:43. This commendable performance catapulted them into second place on the NRC leaderboard, accumulating a total of 90 points.

Notably, Didas Matsiko and Alfred Mutanda displayed perseverance despite facing challenges, finishing in fifth place, albeit 25 minutes behind the leaders. Their valiant effort earned them fourth position in the NRC standings, amassing 72.5 points.

In the fiercely contested 2WD category, Edward Kirumira and Shakira Nabwami emerged victorious, piloting a Toyota Corolla to victory with a time of 1:57:00. Julius Semambo, co-driven by Geoffrey Serwoga, secured second place in another Toyota Corolla, finishing three minutes behind the category winners.

2wd winner Edward Kirumila powering his Toyota Corola to victory.

In the CRC category Haruna Kataza and Urban Mulindwa emerged victorious, guiding their Subaru N8 to triumph with a commendable total time of 1:27.2. Following closely behind, Ahmed Senyonjo showcased remarkable performance, securing second place in a Toyota Corolla, a mere 21 minutes adrift from the class leader. However, the race was not without its twists, as the crew of Musa Segabwe and Mathias Kiyaga, anticipated favorites in a Mitsubishi Evo9, encountered misfortune. Despite their initial promise, fate intervened when they overshot in a treacherous swamp, resulting in a significant time loss of 25 minutes, relegating them to third place in the category standings.

CRC winner Haruna Kataza negotiates the chicanes in the SMK tyres stage

However, the rally was not without its share of drama, as one of the 2WD crews encountered difficulties, resulting in the cancellation of a stage. This unforeseen incident disrupted the rhythm of several crews, impacting their performance and adding an element of unpredictability to the competition.

SMC Challenge Rally 2024 full results

1.Jas Mangat/Enoch Olinga -Hyundai 120* 1:26:37.9

2.Nasser Mutebi/ Steven Bunya-Mitsubishi evo9* 1:37:56.9

3. Dr Moustapha Mukasa/ Mwambazi Lawrence -Mitsubishi Evo9* 1:40:36.6

4.Jonas Kansime/ Ronald Bukenya-Mitsubishi  Evo8*1:46:43.4

5.Didas Matsiko/Alfred Mutanda-Subaru Impreza* 1:44:56.4

6.Isaac Sozzi/Monica Birwinyo -Subaru impreza* 1:52:17.4

7.Kitaka Fred/ Joseph Bongole- Subaru Impreza*1:57:06

8.Faisal Kayira/Kamoga Hakim- Subaru Impreza*1:58:16.2

9.Edward Kirumira/Shakirah Nabwami-Toyota Corola* 1:58:30.0

10.Julious Semambo/serwoga Geofrey -Toyota Corola*02:01:38.6

11.Kavuma Amir/ Nabirah Doreen- Subaru Impreza*02:08:30.8

Looking ahead, all eyes are now set on the upcoming Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally, scheduled to be the first round of the Africa Rally Championship from 10th to 12th May. Set against the picturesque backdrop of Jinja, this prestigious event promises to attract top-tier talent from across the continent, as competitors from Kenya, Rwanda, and beyond converge to vie for African glory. Stay tuned as the rallying fraternity braces for another exhilarating chapter in the quest for motorsport supremacy.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *