Jas Mangat Dominates MPU Mbarara City Rally 2024, Secures Victory from Start to Finish


In a gripping display of skill and determination, Jas Mangat asserted his dominance in the MPU Mbarara City Rally 2023, leading the competition from start to finish in a Hyundai I20 R5 alongside co-driver Enock Olinga. The rally, consisting of seven stages, witnessed Mangat’s unwavering control over his powerful vehicle as he secured victory by winning an impressive six of those stages, leaving his rivals trailing behind.

Clocking a total time of 1 hour, 10 minutes, and 23 seconds, Mangat crossed the finish line with a commanding lead of 9 minutes and 57 seconds ahead of the second-placed Jonas Kansime, who was co-driven by Ronald Bukenya in a Mitsubishi EV8. Despite Kansime’s valiant efforts, he couldn’t match the sheer pace and consistency of Mangat’s Hyundai R5 throughout the rally.

Ponsiano Lwakataka, known for his speed and resilience, fought back from setbacks on the first day of the rally, including a puncture and engine issues during the super special stage. Despite these challenges, Lwakataka secured third place overall with a time of 1 hour, 20 minutes, and 48 seconds, showcasing his determination and skill.

The equity bank-sponsored team of Moustapha Mukasa and Lawrence Mwambazi, driving a Mitsubishi Evo9, rebounded from past misfortunes to secure a commendable fourth place overall. Their performance, marked by determination and perseverance, signals promising prospects for the upcoming season.

Local hero Didas Matsiko, partnered with co-driver Alfred Mutanda in a Subaru Impreza, capitalized on home advantage to secure fifth place overall, finishing with a time of 1 hour, 31 minutes, and 6 seconds, much to the delight of the hometown crowd.

The newly introduced 14.49km Kakoba Power Stage provided an exhilarating climax to the rally, with Mangat once again asserting his dominance by posting the fastest time of 8 minutes and 39 seconds. Lwakataka and Matayo Jonas claimed the second and third positions, respectively, in a thrilling showcase of skill and speed.

In the 2WD category, Edward Kirumira, navigated by Shakira Nabwami, emerged victorious in a Toyota Corolla, securing not only category honors but also an impressive eighth place overall. Moses Okello and Ibrahim Lubega rounded out the top three in the fiercely contested category.

Looking ahead, rally enthusiasts eagerly anticipate the next National Rally Championship event, scheduled to take place in Masaka in the coming month, organized by the Southern Motor Club. With Mangat’s dominant performance setting the standard, competitors brace themselves for another thrilling installment in the rally season.

In the CRC category, Musa Segamu emerged victorious, skillfully navigating the challenging course in a Mitsubishi Evo9. Topher Katera, demonstrating impressive teamwork and driving prowess. Odion Tumwebaze secured the third spot, displaying determination and skill throughout the race.

However, not all participants tasted success, as Ronald Sebuguzi and Anthony Mugambwa encountered issues from the onset, settling for 12th place overall in their Ford Fiesta Proto. Additionally, Fred Busulwa Kitaka’s rally came to an abrupt end due to suspension damage, paving the way for an unpredictable battlefield.

Looking ahead, anticipation mounts for the next National Rally Championship event, set to take place in Masaka in the coming month, organized by the Southern Motor Club. With Mangat’s stellar performance setting the bar high, competitors are poised for another thrilling chapter in the rally season.

The MPU Mbarara Rally 2024 Results

1.Jas Mangat/Enoch Olinga 1:10:23

2.Jonas Kansime / Ronald Bukenya 1:20:21

3.Ponsiano Lwakataka/ paul Musazi 1:20:48

4.Moustapha Mukasa/Lawrence Mwambazi 1:30:37

5.Didas Matsiko/Alfred Mutanda 1:31:06

6.Joshua Muwanguzi/Hamza Lwanga 1:31:39

7.Isaac Ssozi/Monica Birwinyo 1:41:16

8.Edward Kirumira/Shakira Nabwami 1:41:45

9.Ibrahim Lubega/Robert Katabalwa 1:47:48

10.Samuel Watendwa/alvin Luyimbazi 1:47:49

11.Ronald Sebuguzi/Anthony Mugambwa 1:50:24

12.Moses Okello / Isma Musoke 1:50:32

13.Godfrey Nsereko/Jb Musisi 1:51:01

14.Faizo Kayira/Hakim Kamoga 1:54:06

15.Amir Kavuma/Doreen Nabirah 1:57:40

16.Salim Gasemba/Emmanuel Mugulusi 2:03:05

17.Julious Semambo/ Diana Nagawa 2:14:16.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *