By: Mukiibi Herbert

The 2024 Uganda NRC season kicks off with the famous Mbarara Rally.
The prestigious event dubbed MPU Mbarara Rally is slate to run on the 9th -11th February with nine competitive stages covering a total distance of 176 kilometers.
The action starts on Saturday at Ekhaya Crescent Hotel, followed by two competitive stages in the morning as the action moves to the Mbarara Golf course for the Super Special stage.
This event, Organised by MPU sponsored by MCRC 2024, will be the highlight of the Uganda National Rally Championship as record entries are expected and a good turn up of rally fans.
Last years champion Yasin Nasser who was on pace last year from the get-go hence claiming the win is again expected this year to defend his win and hopefully stake on the bid for a third national title as well.

Ronald Sebuguzi/Antonny Mugambwa pushing their Proto

Having demonstrated a rally winning pace behind the wheels of a proto car throught the 2023 season, multi champion, Ronald Ssebuguzi will again show up for the 2024 season with a strong bid for the title reckoning a win in Mbarara, an event he finished second last year.

Jas Mangat, however joins the anticipated squad as something of a specialist with quite a good number of victories to his name.Him apparently owning a Hyundai i20 R5 car, stands favorite for a win if he shows up.
Among the other top crews expected are, Duncan Mubiru who clinched the third spot in last years Mbarara challenge, Ponsiano Lwakataka, Byron Rugomoka, Hassan Alwi among others…

Susan Muwonge/Edmond Kyeyune in their Subaru N12B

After a long term sabbatical, Ambrose Byona will finally return to the rally scene and hopefully starting with Mbarara for the season. Ambrose will join the two time National Champion, Suzan Muwonge who broke her comp time in the previously concluded boxing day sprint. Hopefully, Suzan will again show up for the season opener.

Kiyimba flying his Subaru N8

Having advanced to the national category, Kiyimba Godfrey, Muwanguzi Joshua, Ali Omar and Ali Muhammed will again gauge against each other in the division 2 category for the category championship and all crews are expected in Mbarara.

While most of the driver turn ups stay the same, there are nevertheless some exciting new combinations under the CRC category to add another dimension in Mbarara.

Among those are, Musa Segaabwe who has always left fans extolling him with only three appearances. Fans reckon he could be the toughest of the rookies.
Reigning autocross champion Kevin Bebeto, Topher Kateera, Katazza Haruna, John P Kyebambe, Ahmed Kateete and Vincent Muwanguzi round up the CRC category. Lauding up the CRC category and this could arguably be the best lineup it has ever had.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *